Unbelievable: An RTO Office sans Harassment, Touts & Bribes

Unbelievable: An RTO Office sans Harassment, Touts & Bribes

We are so used to being harassed and squeezed by babus in government offices. This was a wonderful experience of an enthusiastic and helpful officer, good staff and efficient working.

I wish we had more Anil Kumars and that all RTO offices were like the one in Vasant Vihar in New Delhi.

It was with trepidation that I approached the RTO office for renewal of my time expired license. I had avoided going for renewal to the RTO office, apprehending torture and run around.

It was then that I heard that a new RTO office had been set up at Vasant Vihar, andI had tried to access information about the location and timing from the internet. True to traditions, the Delhi Government website had no information of the office. According to the website there was no RTO office in the vicinity of Vasant Vihar. However I made up my mind to face the battle and went forth.

Since I had gone without pre arranging for ‘help’ from a tout or a ‘driving school’ or ‘sifarish’, I was mentally prepared for being given a run around by the clerks in the office. I had even taken along a friend for moral and physical support.

I found the enquiry counter near the gate manned by 3 clerks. To my surprise I got the necessary forms from the enquiry counter without any problem. I was also told to attach supporting documents in respect of age, address proof etc. The clerk noted the details and directed me to a counter inside the main office.

I went inside the main office and found it to be well lit, bright and cheerful. There I was told that being a time expired license that too from a state outside, renewed many times over from Tamil Nadu and UP it would be a difficult and time consuming affair to get the old license renewed.

I walked in to the office of the officer in charge (I read the nameplate out side, it said Anil Kumar) and was pleasantly surprised at the courteous manner in which my friend and I were dealt with.  ‘It would be better and easier to get a fresh license issued after due tests than a renewal’ he said and further advised me of the forms to be filled for obtaining a learner’s license.

I proceeded as advised, paid the necessary fees, was administered a test on driving rules and given a learner’s driving license all in a matter of 30 minutes. I was advised to come after a month for a formal test for the drivers’ license.

I did tell Mr. Anil Kumar what a surprise it was not to find any tout in or near the RTO office premises, and the speed with which the forms were accepted, dues collected, test given and learner’s license handed over.

I went a month later and I was given a receipt for the amount paid at the counter and after a driving test was told the new driving license would be sent by courier within 10 days. That day I had spent just over an hour for the entire process.

The new driving license was delivered home on the third day!

Mr. Anil Kumar also told me later that he can make resources available for imparting training, spread of road sense etc.

We are so used to being harassed and squeezed by babus in government offices. This was a wonderful experience of an enthusiastic and helpful officer, good staff and efficient working.

I wish we had more Anil Kumars and that all RTO offices were like the one in Vasant Vihar in New Delhi.

PS

The RTO Vasnt Vihar office is located adjacent to Munirka, Rama Market, between DCP office and DTC depot

4 Responses

  1. Desr Sir,
    I read about your experience with the new RTO office in getting your new licence. I am not convinced about your being very happy in getting an altogether new licence in spite of your being an old licence holder. You have been deprived the respect of being an old licence holder. Why should you be happy I do not understand at all. You should have been happy if your old licence was recognised and duly revalidated. The procedure followed was just to save work and does not appear to be convincing and justified. If a new licence has been issued in place of an old licence starting from a fresh learner’s licence, an official procedure should be followed for cancellation of the old licence as well. After all a driving licence is an important document and is widely used as an identification document. If we are not doing this then we are leaving room for impersonification.
    Yours,
    A. Swarup

    • dear swarup, his license was expired. so there is no need of cancellation and all. becos that is not a valid document once expired. for renewing the license, NOC has to be obtained from tamil nadu rto. that is definitely a herculean task becos the rto there may be the typical ‘indian rto office’. He did the best possible way

  2. Hi
    i’m in process of getting a license myself. Just found about the vasant vihar depot.

    Is this RTO open on Saturdays? and the working hours?
    thanks

    Krisha

  3. I think good i like informationOffice

Leave a Reply

